Student Writing Workshop

Workshop Summary
Writing scientific papers is an integral part of working in research, but many students receive no formal training in this area. This workshop is a one-day course designed to introduce you to some of the key aspects of putting a scientific paper together. The workshop will be broken down into three sessions:

Session 1: Structure
Tips and tricks about how to approach writing, with exercises about communicating your work effectively through clear figures and intriguing abstracts.

Session 2: Grammar & Style
How to refine your writing to make it easy for the reader, including tips on removing clutter and utilising punctuation. Apply your new knowledge and edit some of your own work at the end of the session!

Session 3: Peer Review
Learn about the submission and refereeing process. What are referees looking for in your work? What kind of outcomes are there? We even include some real referee reports to give you a feel for what to expect.


Locations and Dates

  • 2nd of August: Melbourne - Opat Seminar Room, Level 6, School of Physics, David Caro Building, University of Melbourne
  • 9th of August: Brisbane - Room TBC, University of Queensland
  • 16th of August: Sydney - Foundation Room, School of Physics, A28, University of Sydney
  • 30th of August: Canberra - Common Room, Mount Stromlo Observatory, The Australian National University
  • 13th of September: Perth - Seminar Room, Brodie-Hall Building, Technology Park, Curtin University

This workshop has been organised by the CAASTRO student committee. The workshop will be free to attend! Open to students undertaking Honours, Masters and PhD projects in Astronomy/Astrophysics. The workshop will be held in Brisbane, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne and Perth.


  • Caitlin Adams (Swinburne University)
  • Stephanie Bernard (University of Melbourne)
  • Natalia Sommer (Australian National University)
  • Marcin Glowacki (University of Sydney)
  • Rebecca McElroy (University of Sydney)
  • Josh Calcino (University of Queensland)
  • Tristan Reynolds (University of Western Australia)
  • Bradley Meyers (Curtin University)