Australia-ChinA ConsortiuM for Astrophysical Research (ACAMAR)

Acamar (θ Eridani, 天園六) is a bright naked-eye star visible from both Australia and China. In February 2013, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (“CAS)” and the Australian Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (“Industry”) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to collaborate on areas of common interest within astronomy, astrophysics and cosmology. The MoU required the establishment of a joint CAS/Industry working group, to monitor and encourage proposed areas of collaboration.

The first meeting of the joint CAS/Industry working group took place in Nanjing, China, on 11th November 2013. At this meeting, it was resolved to establish a joint China-Australia research centre in astronomy, the Australian-ChinA ConsortiuM for Astrophysical Research (ACAMAR). The centre was envisaged as a “virtual” centre, to serve as an umbrella and coordination point for bilateral astronomical collaborations. An MoU has since been signed by CAASTRO at the University of Sydney to facilitate this centre.

ACAMAR aims to:

  • build upon existing arrangements
  • maximise the scientific return on investment in astronomy infrastructure;
  • develop human capital in the field of astronomy; and
  • enhance our common scientific understanding of the universe.

ACAMAR was officially launched in Beijing on Saturday 12th September 2015.


The  Australian secretariat for ACAMAR will be hosted by the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO), at The University of Sydney. The secretariat will provide administrative support for ACAMAR, including day-to-day operations, financial oversight and an ACAMAR WWW page.

The Chinese secretariat for ACAMAR will be hosted by The Purple Mountain Observatory, Chinese Academy of Sciences (PMO).

Please contact Kate Gunn at for more information.

The ACAMAR Australian Advisory Board

The members of the ACAMAR Australian Advisory Board are:

  • Brian Schmidt - Australian National University - ACAMAR Co-Chair
  • Elaine Sadler - The University of Sydney
  • David Luchetti - Australian SKA Office, Department of Industry and Science
  • Lister Staveley-Smith - UWA/ICRAR
  • Mita Brierley - Astronomy Australia Limited
  • Michael Ashley - The University of New South Wales
  • Kate Gunn - The University of Sydney