Congratulations to Chris Blake, winner of the 2013 Pawsey Medal!

Jan 16, 2013

The Australian Academy of Science today announced the 2013 winners of its prestigious annual awards for scientific excellence.

Honorific awards are presented to career researchers for life-long achievements and to outstanding early-career researchers under the age of 40. In addition, the Academy gives a number of awards for research and travel support.
In 2013, the Academy will give more than $127,000 in awards, travel and research support.

“It is the Academy’s privilege to recognise excellence in diverse fields of science,” said Academy President, Professor Suzanne Cory.

“These awards celebrate both career-long contributions by some of Australia’s most distinguished researchers and remarkable discoveries made by younger investigators.

“Each recipient is an outstanding scientist. On behalf of the Academy I warmly congratulate each of these individuals on their remarkable achievements in science.”

2013 Early-career research awards

  • Associate Professor Christopher Blake, Swinburne University of Technology – Pawsey Medal for research in physics